Meinmahla Kyun Wildlife Sanctuary

Mangrove in Meinmahla Kyun
Sunset of Meinmahla Kyun

Meinmahla Kyun Wildlife Sanctuary

  • Pays: 
    Myanmar
  • Numéro du site: 
    2280
  • Superficie: 
    50'000 ha
  • Date d’inscription: 
    03-01-2017
  • Coordonnées: 
    15°51'N 95°16'E
Le matériel présenté sur ce site web, et en particulier les cartes et l’information territoriale, est tel qu’il apparaît dans les données disponibles et n’implique en aucune manière l’expression d’une opinion quelconque de la part du Secrétariat de la Convention de Ramsar concernant le statut juridique de tout pays, territoire, ville ou zone, ou de ses autorités, ou concernant la délimitation de ses frontières ou limites.

Panorama

Zone humide côtière située dans la partie méridionale du delta de l’Irrawaddy, le site est aussi un Parc du patrimoine de l’ASEAN. On y trouve une des plus vastes zones de mangroves subsistant dans le delta où les écosystèmes de mangroves ont régressé face aux activités telles que l’exploitation forestière, la pêche et le développement de rails de transport maritime. Les espèces des mangroves sont en train d’être remplacées par le palmier dattier des mangroves (Phoenix paludosa). L’importance internationale du Site Ramsar se justifie à plus d’un titre. Sa capacité de piégeage du carbone n’est pas négligeable de sorte que le site joue un rôle important dans l’atténuation des changements climatiques au niveau mondial. Il abrite également des espèces menacées au plan mondial comme la tortue imbriquée (Eretmochelys imbricata) et la tortue fluviale indienne (Batagur baska) toutes deux en danger critique d’extinction. Cette dernière est particulièrement importante pour le site car elle figure sur la Liste rouge de l’UICN des espèces menacées comme éteinte au plan régional au Myanmar. Parmi les espèces en danger, l’on peut citer le bécasseau de l’Anadyr (Calidris tenuirostris), le chevalier tacheté (Tringa guttifer), la tortue verte (Chelonia mydas) et le cuon d’Asie (Cuon alpinus). La tortue olivâtre (Lepidochelys olivacea), le chat pêcheur (Prionailurus viverrinus), le marabout chevelu (Leptoptilos javanicus) et l’orcelle de Cochinchine (Orcaella brevirostris) sont des espèces vulnérables que le site accueille. Ce dernier est aussi le dernier habitat estuarien du Myanmar pour le crocodile marin (Crocodylus porosus). Pour le peuple du Myanmar, le site représente d’importantes valeurs culturelles et historiques et, à travers les mythes et les pèlerinages, renforce ses liens à l’environnement.

Région administrative: 
The Ramsar site lies within Bogalay Township, Ayeyarwady Region, in the eastern Ayeyarwady delta region of Myanmar, about 140 km southwest of Yangon. It is roughly 46 km north-south and from 5 to 10 km across. The township main town of Bogalay lies 24 km

  • Inscription légale nationale: 
    • Wildlife Sanctuaries and Reserves
  • Inscriptions juridiques régionales (internationales): 
    • Autre inscription internationale
  • Date de dernière publication: 
    01-02-2017

Téléchargements

Fiche descriptive Ramsar (FDR)

Meinmahla Kyun Wildlife Sanctuary

Mangrove in Meinmahla Kyun
Sunset of Meinmahla Kyun

Meinmahla Kyun Wildlife Sanctuary

  • Country: 
    Myanmar
  • Site number: 
    2280
  • Area: 
    50,000 ha
  • Designation date: 
    02-02-2017
  • Coordinates: 
    15°51'N 95°16'E
Materials presented on this website, particularly maps and territorial information, are as-is and as-available based on available data and do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the Secretariat of the Ramsar Convention concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area, or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries.

Overview

The Site is a coastal wetland in the southern part of the Irrawaddy Delta, which is also an ASEAN Heritage Park. It supports one of the largest remaining mangrove areas of in the Delta, where mangrove ecosystems have declined due to activities including logging, fishing and development of shipping lanes. Now the mangrove species are being replaced by mangrove date palm (Phoenix paludosa). The Ramsar Site is of international importance for a number of reasons. It has a substantial carbon sequestration capacity, and so is important in mitigating global climate change. It also supports globally threatened species such as the critically endangered hawksbill turtle (Eretmochelys imbricata) and mangrove terrapin (Batagur baska). The latter is particularly significant for the Site because it is listed under the IUCN Red List as regionally extinct in Myanmar. Other threatened species include the endangered great knot (Calidris tenuirostris), Nordmann’s greenshank (Tringa guttifer), green turtle (Chelonia mydas) and dhole (Cuon alpinus). Vulnerable species include the Pacific ridley turtle (Lepidochelys olivacea), fishing cat (Prionailurus viverrinus), lesser adjutant (Leptoptilos javanicus) and the Irrawaddy dolphin (Orcaella brevirostris). The Site is also the last estuarine habitat in Myanmar for the salt water crocodile (Crocodylus porosus). It holds significant cultural and historic value for the people of Myanmar, based on myths and pilgrimages which closely connect them to their environment.

Administrative region: 
The Ramsar site lies within Bogalay Township, Ayeyarwady Region, in the eastern Ayeyarwady delta region of Myanmar, about 140 km southwest of Yangon. It is roughly 46 km north-south and from 5 to 10 km across. The township main town of Bogalay lies 24 km

  • National legal designation: 
    • Wildlife Sanctuaries and Reserves
  • Regional (international) legal designations: 
    • Other international designation
  • Last publication date: 
    02-02-2017

Downloads

Ramsar Information Sheet (RIS)